Skip to content

Event Tents for Sale: What a Rental Company Should Buy

A commercial 20x40 event tent cost $899.99 as a light pole tent and $2,999.99 to $5,936.99 as a complete frame tent on makers' sites on 16 October 2026. Sidewalls, ballast and lighting can double that. Buy 16 ounce block out vinyl with an NFPA 701 certificate for every top, in sizes your market already asks for.

  • 26 min read
  • Written by Rentopus

Key takeaways

  • A 20x40 frame tent listed at $2,999.99 on sale at TentandTable, $5,884.42 with stakes at American Tent and $5,936.99 at Celina, all read on 16 October 2026.
  • Anchoring changes the bill: American Tent's 20x40 frame costs $2,321.54 more with its water ballast system than with stakes, and its chart calls for 40 barrels on a 40x60.
  • Most commercial tops are 16 ounce PVC vinyl. A CPAI-84 label alone does not meet NFPA 701, the certificate a fire marshal asks for.
  • TentandTable and Celina warrant tops for 1 year. American Tent's terms sell tents as is, with 14 days to report a problem before first use.
  • A tent built for pavement can cost 1.8 to 2.2 times the tent alone once sidewalls, ballast and lights are added, by our sum of published prices.
  • A clear top 20x40 frame cost $100 more than the white one at TentandTable on sale, and $2,764.62 more at American Tent, read 31 October 2026.

Go to section

Sections 1 to 11
  1. Pole, frame, high peak and structure tents
  2. Sailcloth and clear top tents
  3. Pole tent vs frame tent
  4. Where to buy event tents
  5. What a commercial tent costs by size
  6. The extras that double the cost
  7. Tent fabric and flame certificates
  8. Buying used tents
  9. Warranties, lead times and terms
  10. How many tents and sizes to start with
  11. Frequently asked questions

Pole, frame, high peak and structure tents

There are four families of event tent to buy. A pole tent is cheapest and fastest to install but needs stakes in soft ground. A frame tent has no center poles and can be ballasted on pavement. A high peak tent adds a tall center, and a structure tent is engineered, with published wind ratings and a price to match.

How each type installs, and the crews and hours involved, is covered in how to start a tent rental business. The question here is what each one costs to own.

TypeExamplePrice read 16 October 2026What you getSource
Pole, economy20x40 Weekender, 14 oz top$899.99 sale, $1,099.99 listComplete tentTentandTable
Pole, premium20x40 Capitol, 16 oz block out$4,736.92; top only $2,295.29Top, poles, stakes, ratchetsAmerican Tent
Pole, large40x60 sectional, 18 oz$6,999.99 sale, $7,999.99 listComplete tentTentandTable
High peak frame20x20, 16 oz block out$1,499.99 sale, $1,999.99 listComplete, walls extraTentandTable
High peak frame, cross cable20x20 Pinnacle Series$2,187.70Complete, stakes and ratchetsCelina
Frame20x40 Atrium, 16 oz$5,884.42Frame, top, stakes, ratchetsAmerican Tent
Frame40x60 Atrium$17,134.35Frame, top, stakes, ratchetsAmerican Tent
Keder structure30x60 Ameritrac$14,972.94 frame and top; $22,058.64 with ballastKeder track frameAmerican Tent
Semi permanent frame, printedX-Series, 10x10 to 20x40About $4,078 to $16,100Engineer certified wind ratingsTentCraft

Prices before freight and tax, from each seller's own pages.

Pole tents cost the least per square foot, which is why many first fleets start with one large pole tent for backyards. TentandTable files its 14 ounce Weekender under economy pole tents, so price it as a tent with a shorter working life than a premium top.

Frame tents cost more at the same size, because you are buying an aluminum frame and its fittings. At TentandTable a 20x40 frame was $2,999.99 on sale against $899.99 to $1,899.99 for its 20x40 pole tents. American Tent sells the 40x60 frame and top without anchoring for $15,906.79 and the top alone for $6,002.82, so close to two thirds of that tent is frame.

High peak frame tents are what wedding customers often ask for by name. Celina, an Ohio manufacturer, notes that its cross cable design holds the center mast above an open interior with no pole on the ground, and that it uses fewer frame components than some conventional frames.

Structure tents are a different purchase. TentCraft, in Traverse City, Michigan, sells its semi permanent frames with an engineer stamped structural report and certified wind ratings. Tentnology, a British Columbia maker, says engineering reports for its tents are available to qualified engineers. Clearspans are quoted per project, so neither publishes a list price for them.

Sailcloth and clear top tents

Two wedding tents cost more than their white vinyl cousins. A sailcloth tent is a pole tent with a translucent top, round ends and tall peaks; Aztec's Tidewater started at $3,185 for a 20x17. A clear top tent is a frame tent with a clear vinyl top, from $1,799.99 for a 20x20 on sale at TentandTable.

TypeExamplePrice read 31 October 2026What you getSource
Sailcloth, smallestTidewater 20x17From $3,185Starting price; quote per configurationAztec Tent
Sailcloth, largestTidewater 81x171Up to $169,567Top of Aztec's published rangeAztec Tent
Sailcloth, complete33x33 Sailcloth Tent$17,990Tent, rigging, sidewalls, wooden poles, pegs, bags, flagsCanvasCamp
Sailcloth, large66x105 Sailcloth Tent$85,490Same kit as the 33x33CanvasCamp
SailclothSperry TentsQuoted per projectPurchase, custom purchase or licensed provider, by inquirySperry Tents
SailclothAurora, 20 to 81 feet wideQuoted per projectThrough dealersAnchor Industries
SailclothStillwater, 20 to 81 feet wideQuoted per projectThrough its sales teamFred's Tents
Clear top frame20x20, 16 oz$1,799.99 sale, $2,399.99 listTop, frame, 8 stakes; walls extraTentandTable
Clear top frame20x40, 16 oz$3,099.99 sale, $4,299.99 listTop, frame, 12 stakes; walls extraTentandTable
Clear top frame40x60 sectional, 18 oz$10,599.99Three piece top, frame, 20 stakes, ratchets, base platesTentandTable
Clear top frame20x20 Clear Top Tent$5,354.83; top only $2,944.18Top, frame, stakes, ratchetsAmerican Tent
Clear top frame20x40 Clear Top Tent$8,649.04; $10,970.58 with ballastTop, frame, stakes, ratchetsAmerican Tent
Clear top frame30x60 Clear Top Tent$18,449.62; top only $11,549.95Top, frame, stakes, ratchetsAmerican Tent

Read 31 October 2026. Prices before freight and tax, from each seller's own pages. CanvasCamp ships free in the continental US and lists both tents as shipping in 4 weeks.

What a sailcloth tent is. Aztec, in Torrance, California, describes its Tidewater as a pole tent with round ends and tall king and queen center poles, tensioned toward stakes with rope or ratchet straps. The round ends are why widths run 32, 44, 51 and 57 feet rather than round numbers: Aztec keeps every sidewall section 10 feet wide. Sperry Tents, which grew out of a Massachusetts sail loft, uses wooden poles and says its tents are made from genuine sailcloth.

Not every sailcloth tent is sailcloth. Aztec's top is a polyester sailcloth with a PVC coating on both sides, which it says is up to 30 percent lighter than other vinyl tents. Herculite, an American fabric maker, sells Architent Heritage, a polyester reinforced PVC vinyl it markets for the look of traditional sailcloth. Ask what the top is made of and get its certificate: Aztec lists NFPA 701, California State Fire Marshal Title 19 and CAN/ULC S109, while CanvasCamp's pages list CPAI-84 and European ratings, and the guide's flame section explains why CPAI-84 alone is not enough.

Who buys them. Weddings. Anchor Industries sells its Aurora sailcloth for outdoor weddings, Fred's Tents calls its Stillwater a tent for weddings and upscale events, and Aztec claims the Tidewater commands higher rental rates than traditional tents. Clear tops sell on the same night: Anchor pitches them for natural light by day and an open view of the sky after dark.

Who sells them to you. Aztec quotes each tent and runs a dealer program. Anchor sells through dealers. Fred's Tents sells through its sales team. Sperry is different: its tents are rented only through its licensed locations, more than 40 worldwide by its own count, and its inquiry form offers a standard purchase, a custom purchase or becoming a licensed provider. Clear top frames are the easy ones: TentandTable and American Tent list them online.

What a clear top costs to own. The extra cost at purchase varies by seller. TentandTable's clear 20x40 cost $100 more than its white one on sale; American Tent's cost $2,764.62 more, about 47 percent, by our arithmetic. The real cost is care. Anchor, in Evansville, Indiana, warns that unsupported clear vinyl is dimensionally unstable and will stretch and pond water without constant tension. Its instructions:

  1. Tighten again within 24 hours of the install, because the top relaxes overnight, then weekly on any install longer than a week.
  2. Wash by hand in cold water with a soft cloth and mild soap. Warm water with detergent shrinks clear vinyl, and Anchor says that damage is not covered by warranty.
  3. No solvents, no washing machine, no dryer. Dry it completely before rolling or folding.
  4. Store it at 70°F, plus or minus 5 degrees, and 50 percent humidity, plus or minus 10.

Cold is the other limit. TentandTable says not to handle or install its vinyl below 40°F, and its clear 40x60 page warns that cold can crack the transparent material; American Tent rates its clear tops to 32°F. American Tent advises a drop cloth to keep a top clean. None of the maker pages we read put a figure on scratching or yellowing, so inspect clear tops after every job and price a spare top into the plan.

Should a new rental company buy one? A clear top frame, maybe, if weddings are already asking: at TentandTable's sale prices it costs little more than white, but plan on a warm, dry place to store it and a crew trained to wash it by hand. A sailcloth tent, not yet. It is quoted per project, needs stakes like any pole tent, and wants its own sidewalls, which Aztec recommends over standard curtain walls. Subrent one for your first sailcloth weddings, and buy when the bookings you turned away say so.

Pole tent vs frame tent

A pole tent is held up by center poles and guy ropes staked into the ground, so it needs soft ground and costs the least per square foot. A frame tent stands on an aluminum frame with no center poles, sets up on grass or pavement, and costs more at the same size.

Pole tentFrame tent
Ground it needsGrass or soft ground; asphalt with heavy duty stakes and a stake driver; not concreteGrass, asphalt or concrete; pavement needs ballast or asphalt anchors
Center polesYesNone
Setup crew2 people on TentandTable's premium 20x40 spec sheetOne person per 10 feet of tent to pull the top over the frame, per TentandTable
Setup timeNot publishedNot published
Price per square foot, 20x40$1.12 (TentandTable Weekender, 14 oz) to $5.92 (American Tent Capitol)$3.75 (TentandTable, on sale) to $7.36 (American Tent Atrium, with stakes)
Same, clear topNot sold as clear by these makers$3.87 (TentandTable, on sale) to $10.81 (American Tent)
Wind and anchoringGuy ropes to stakes about 4 feet out, two stakes at each corner; check long installs daily, says AnchorStakes, or ballast on pavement: 12 barrels for a 20x40 on American Tent's chart
Hardware to haulFewer pieces, easier to store and moveMore tubing and fittings; 655 pounds for TentandTable's 20x40
Best forBig lawns, one day events, the classic peaked lookPavement, patios, open floor plans, long installs

Read 31 October 2026. Price per square foot is our arithmetic: each seller's 20x40 price divided by 800 square feet.

Both styles stake the same way on grass. Celina's European arm notes that pole and frame tents put a support every 5 feet along the perimeter and run guy lines from each to a stake. The difference is the middle: a pole tent needs center poles to make its peaks, and a frame tent leaves the floor clear. TentandTable says its frame has a higher wind load than traditional pole tents, and Anchor says a pole tent on a long install would need checking and readjusting daily. Neither TentandTable nor Anchor publishes install hours for either style; the crew counts above are from TentandTable's own assembly sheets.

The verdict. Buy a frame tent first if your jobs include driveways, patios or parking lots, because a pole tent cannot go on concrete. Buy a pole tent first if your market is big lawns, because at 20x40 the cheapest pole tent cost $1.12 a square foot against $3.75 for the cheapest frame. Most fleets end up with both, as the FAQ below says.

Where to buy event tents

Buy from a manufacturer that makes its own tops and frames, or a dealer that can hand you that maker's flame certificate, manual and parts list. Several US makers publish prices online; Anchor Industries and Aztec sell through dealers, and Tentnology quotes per order.

SellerBased inHow it sellsExample price, 16 October 2026Source
TentandTableBuffalo, New YorkOnline, frequent sale prices20x40 frame, $2,999.99 saletentandtable.net
American TentGreen Bay, WisconsinOnline, made to order20x40 frame with stakes, $5,884.42americantent.com
CelinaCelina, Ohio; tops also made in Taicang, ChinaOnline and through dealers20x40 Master Series frame, $5,936.99gettent.com
Beyond TentOnline dealerIts own line plus Celina20x20 high peak frame, $2,099.99 to $2,799.99beyondtent.com
TentCraftTraverse City, MichiganCustom printed, quoted and listedX-Series frames, about $4,078 to $16,100tentcraft.com
Anchor IndustriesMore than 130 years in businessDealers onlyNo public pricesanchorinc.com
Aztec TentTorrance, CaliforniaDealers onlyNo public pricesaztectent.com
TentnologyBritish Columbia, CanadaQuoteNo public pricestentnology.com

Listed in no order of preference.

The Eureka line moved. Johnson Outdoors sold its Eureka military and commercial tent lines to Rekord Group in March 2023, per Outdoor Industry Compass, and InTents magazine reported the event tent line going to a new company, InTENTional Systems. eurekapartytents.com now redirects to that company's domain, which was not loading when we checked on 16 October 2026, so ask any dealer selling a "Eureka" tent who now makes parts for it.

Parts decide the brand. Celina warns that fittings, cables, tops and frame parts are not always interchangeable across manufacturers or sizes, and that one missing fitting can stop a Friday install. Tentnology states its warranty is void if its parts are mixed with another system. Pick one or two frame systems and keep spare fittings for each.

In Canada, Tentnology is the one domestic maker we could verify that sells rental tents. Most US sellers above ship to Canada, so ask for the delivered price in your currency, and whether the top carries a CAN/ULC-S109 flame rating as well as NFPA 701.

What a commercial tent costs by size

On 16 October 2026 a complete commercial frame tent listed at about $2,300 to $4,850 for a 20x30, $3,000 to $5,940 for a 20x40 and $12,950 to $17,135 for a 40x60. TentandTable was the low end on sale prices, and American Tent and Celina the high end.

SizeTentandTable (sale / list)American Tent, with stakesCelinaSource
20x20 high peak frame$1,499.99 / $1,999.99Not listed$2,187.70 (Pinnacle)tentandtable.net; gettent.com
20x20 frameNot read$3,742.04Not readamericantent.com
20x30 frame$2,299.99 / $3,299.99$4,789.61Not readtentandtable.net; americantent.com
20x40 frame$2,999.99 / $4,199.99$5,884.42$5,936.99 (Master)all three
20x40 high peak frame$2,999.99 / $3,999.99Not listedNot readtentandtable.net
30x30 high peak frame$2,999.99 / $3,999.99Not listedNot readtentandtable.net
40x60 frameNot listed$17,134.35$12,950.90 (Classic)americantent.com; gettent.com
40x60 pole$6,999.99 / $7,999.99$11,164.23Not readtentandtable.net; americantent.com

TentandTable showed sale prices beside a higher list price on every tent we read. Expect the list price to return.

Three things explain most of the spread:

  1. What is in the box. American Tent prices the same 20x40 frame at $5,393.40 with no anchoring, $5,884.42 with stakes and ratchets, and $8,205.96 with its ballast system. Compare complete systems, not tops.
  2. Fabric weight. The $899.99 pole tent has a 14 ounce top; the frame tents above use 16 ounce, and TentandTable's 30x30 high peak and 40x60 pole use 18 ounce.
  3. Frame material and weight. Celina lists its 20x40 Master Series at 867 pounds complete in aluminum and 925 pounds galvanized. TentandTable lists its 20x40 frame at 655 pounds.

Freight comes on top. American Tent ships made to order from Green Bay, free on board at its dock, and notes that many shipments need a forklift to receive. What the same sizes rent for, to work out how fast a tent pays back, is in tent rental prices.

The extras that double the cost

A tent price usually buys the top, the frame and sometimes stakes. Sidewalls, ballast for pavement, lighting and install tools are extra, and on a 20x40 they can cost as much as the tent. Budget the tent ready for the surfaces you will actually install on.

Item for one 20x40 frame tentPrice read 16 October 2026Source
Sidewall kit, 8 foot walls$499.99 sale ($649.99 list)TentandTable
High peak sidewall kit, 8 walls$699.99 sale ($999.99 list)TentandTable
Solid 8x20 walls, four-pack (two packs cover 120 feet)$890.36 per packAmerican Tent
Cathedral window wall, 8x20, each$315.99Celina, via Beyond Tent
Water ballast, four 75 gallon barrels with base plates$948.04 per four-pack; 12 barrels for a 20x40American Tent
Steel stake, 1 inch by 42 inch, double head$19.99 saleTentandTable
LED string light, 48 feet, 24 bulbs$89.99TentandTable
Gas stake driver$999.99 sale ($1,299.99 list)TentandTable
Stake puller$549.99 (JackJaw 301); $610 (JackJaw 302)TentandTable; American Tent
Frame tent jack$599.99 (12 foot); $1,299.99TentandTable; American Tent

Here is what that does to one tent, summed from the prices above. Two light strings are our example, one per long side.

20x40 frame, ready for pavementBuilt from American TentBuilt from TentandTable on sale
Tent$5,884.42 with stakes$2,999.99 with stakes
Sidewalls$1,780.72 (two four-packs)$499.99
Ballast, 12 barrels$2,844.12$2,844.12 (American Tent's system)
Two 48 foot light strings$179.98$179.98
Total$10,689.24$6,524.08
Times the tent price1.82.2

Tools are shared across the fleet, so they are not in the totals: a driver, a puller and a jack cost $2,149.97 at TentandTable. American Tent bundles three jacks, a drop cloth and a puller as a 40x60 setup kit for $4,859.96.

Ballast is the line that surprises people. American Tent's chart calls for 12 barrels on a 20x40 and 40 on a 40x60, which at its four-pack price is $9,480.40 of ballast for one 40x60. TentandTable sells covers for 55 gallon barrels at $159.99 a four-pack, but not the barrels. How much weight each leg needs, and what that does to your truck, is worked through in tent weights.

Stakes are cheaper but come with a call. TentandTable's 20x40 frame includes twelve 3/4 by 30 inch stakes and 6 inch base plates for asphalt, and says the plates do not replace ground staking. Staking means an 811 locate request first, as the pillar guide explains.

Tent fabric and flame certificates

Buy tops in PVC vinyl of at least 16 ounces for rental use, in block out or translucent to suit your market, and only with a manufacturer's NFPA 701 certificate that matches the label sewn into the top. The International Fire Code wants that certificate on file before it approves a tent permit, as the pillar guide sets out.

Weight and finish. American Tent, Celina and TentandTable all sell 16 ounce block out tops on their premium lines, and TentandTable uses 18 ounce on some larger tents. Celina's Presto pole canopy is 14 ounce translucent, 474 grams per square meter, and cost $1,400.97 as a 20x40. Block out tops stop light passing through; translucent tops let daylight in. Celina advises comparing the full material specification, not weight alone, because two 16 ounce tops can carry different coatings and test documents.

Cold weather. TentandTable says its vinyl should not be used below 40°F and that its warranty excludes wind whip or cracking in the cold. Celina lists cold crack resistance to minus 22°F on its Pinnacle tops. If you plan to rent through the winter, read heated tent rentals before you choose a top.

NFPA 701 and CPAI-84. NFPA 701 is the National Fire Protection Association's flame propagation test for textiles and films. CPAI-84 is the Industrial Fabrics Association International's flammability specification for tents, dating from 1976. Instent, a tent maker, explains that CPAI-84 does not classify a fabric as flame retardant, that fire marshals mostly ask for NFPA 701, and that a CPAI-84 tent is not automatically NFPA 701 certified. American Tent states its canopies meet NFPA 701 and are registered with the California State Fire Marshal.

In Canada, the fabric standard is CAN/ULC-S109. Celina lists both NFPA 701 and CAN/ULC-S109 compliance on its Pinnacle tops, and Tentnology says its fabrics exceed NFPA 701 and ULC S109. Ask for the Canadian certificate before you order if you install north of the border.

Keep one certificate per top, filed by serial or label number. When and where a permit is needed is in licenses, permits and inspections.

Buying used tents

A used tent can save money on the frame, which lasts, but you inherit a top of unknown age and a warranty that almost never transfers. We found no reliable published price index for used event tents, so judge each one on its parts, its certificate and its top.

Celina says a tent can last 10 to 15 years with proper care, and the pillar guide cites Celina giving a top 3 to 5 seasons. Read together: the aluminum outlives several tops, so a used frame with a tired top is a frame plus a top you still have to buy.

What to check, in order:

  1. The flame certificate. It must match the label in the top. No certificate, no permit.
  2. The maker and model. You will need its fittings. Celina warns parts are not always interchangeable, and Tentnology voids its warranty if parts are mixed.
  3. Every fitting and leg, counted against the maker's parts list.
  4. The top, spread out: UV chalking, patches, seam leaks, mildew and cracking at the corners.
  5. Webbing, grommets and ratchets, which carry the load.
  6. The warranty. Celina's runs from the date of purchase, and makers rarely transfer one, so assume none.
  7. Sidewalls and ballast included, since those are the extras that double the price new.

If a seller cannot show the certificate, price the tent as a frame and nothing more.

Warranties, lead times and terms

Commercial tent warranties are short: one year on the vinyl is common, and some makers give none at all once the tent is in use. Read the terms before you pay, because payment in full and a restocking fee are normal in this market.

SellerWarrantyPayment and returnsLead timeSource
TentandTable1 year on tops and sidewalls; excludes wind whip and cold cracking below 40°FNot readNot stated on pages readtentandtable.net
Celina1 year from purchase on defects; extended warranty on most productsNot readNot stated on pages readgettent.com
American TentTerms: sold as is, no warranties; FAQ: limited warranty. Will fix top or part issues reported within 14 days, before first usePrepaid in full; 25 percent restocking fee; no returns on custom ordersAbout 1 to 2 weeksamericantent.com
TentCraftManufacturer's warranty per product; wear and fading not coveredNot readNot readtentcraft.com
TentnologyVoid if parts are mixed with other systemsQuoteQuotetentnology.com

Read 16 October 2026.

American Tent's own pages disagree on warranty: its FAQ mentions a limited warranty, its terms say tents are sold as is. Get the warranty in writing on the order. Its 14 day window means someone should unroll and inspect every top within two weeks of delivery, not on the first job.

How many tents and sizes to start with

Start with two or three sizes in one width, not a catalog. Sizes in one width share sidewalls, ballast and crew habits, and TentandTable and American Tent both describe their 20 foot wide frame tents as expandable, so the fleet can grow in length before it grows in width.

Celina's advice for adding any tent is to check your own records first: bookings you turned away, and tents you had to subrent from another company. Its worked example is a $3,000 tent that contributes $300 a booking after direct costs, which takes about 10 rentals to recover.

The same arithmetic with published numbers. Bucks County Tent Rentals in Pennsylvania lists a 20x40 frame at $675 for the tent alone, with delivery and labor from $100 on top. Rentals to recover the price, before labor and delivery:

20x40 frame, as boughtPriceRentals at $675Source
TentandTable, complete, on sale$2,999.995tentandtable.net
American Tent, with stakes$5,884.429americantent.com
American Tent, ready for pavement$10,689.2416Our sum above

Our arithmetic, rounded up. Rental rate from Bucks County Tent Rentals' price list, read 16 October 2026.

A sensible first fleet, then:

  1. One 20x40 frame, staked, the size Bucks County says holds 8 tables and 64 chairs.
  2. One 20x20 high peak, for bars, ceremonies and graduation parties.
  3. One large pole tent if your market has big lawns, because it is the cheapest square foot you can buy.
  4. Ballast for one tent, not all of them, until pavement jobs prove the demand.

Size every quote with the tent size calculator, which turns a guest count and seating style into the square feet and stocked sizes that cover it. Once you own more than one tent, the calendar matters: a tent installed Thursday for a Saturday wedding is out of stock from Thursday, and a wet top needs drying before it goes out again. Tables and chairs to fill the tent are in buying tables and chairs wholesale.

Rentopus is booking, delivery and payment software for party rental companies. Your availability, your booking website and your signed agreements in one place, so two customers are never promised the same unit on the same Saturday. See how it works · Browse the guides

Frequently asked questions

How much does a commercial event tent cost?

On makers' sites on 16 October 2026, a 20x40 pole tent listed from $899.99 on sale, and a complete 20x40 frame tent from $2,999.99 on sale at TentandTable to $5,936.99 at Celina. A 40x60 frame ran $12,950.90 to $17,134.35. Prices exclude freight and tax, and most exclude sidewalls and ballast, which can double the cost.

Should a rental company buy pole tents or frame tents?

Both, eventually. Pole tents are the cheapest square foot and quick to install, but they need stakes in soft ground. Frame tents cost more at the same size, $2,999.99 against $899.99 to $1,899.99 for a 20x40 at TentandTable, but have no center poles and can be ballasted on pavement. Many fleets start with frame tents and add a large pole tent for big lawns.

What is a sailcloth tent?

A sailcloth tent is a pole tent with a translucent top, round ends and tall center peaks that glows when lit at night. Some tops are true sailcloth, like Sperry's and Aztec's coated polyester; others are translucent vinyl made to look like it. Aztec's Tidewater started at $3,185 for a 20x17 on 31 October 2026.

What is the difference between a pole tent and a frame tent?

A pole tent is held up by center poles and guy ropes staked into soft ground. A frame tent stands on an aluminum frame with no center poles and can be ballasted on pavement. At 20x40, pole tents cost $1.12 to $5.92 a square foot and frame tents $3.75 to $7.36, by our arithmetic on published prices.

What is the difference between a frame tent and a high peak frame tent?

Both stand on a frame with no center pole on the ground. A high peak frame adds a raised center peak, often held up by cables, which gives the pointed roof wedding customers ask for. A traditional frame has a lower gable roof and suits long reception layouts. TentandTable priced its 20x40 in both styles at $2,999.99 on sale.

Do event tents need NFPA 701 certification?

In most US jurisdictions, yes, for any tent that needs a permit. The fire marshal asks for the manufacturer's NFPA 701 certificate, matched to the label in the top. A CPAI-84 label alone does not meet NFPA 701, according to tent maker Instent. In Canada, ask for CAN/ULC-S109 as well. This is general information; your fire marshal decides.

Is it worth buying a used commercial tent?

It can be, if the seller has the flame certificate for the top and you can still buy fittings for the frame. Frames last much longer than tops, so a used tent with an old top is mostly a frame. Count every fitting against the maker's parts list, spread the top out to inspect it, and assume no warranty transfers to you.

How long does a commercial event tent last?

Celina says a tent can last 10 to 15 years with proper care, while a vinyl top lasts about 3 to 5 seasons of rental use, as our tent rental guide notes from the same maker. Drying tops before storage, keeping them off concrete and avoiding cold weather installs below the vinyl's rated temperature all extend that life.

What else do I need to buy with a frame tent?

Sidewalls, anchoring for every surface you install on, lighting, and the tools to put it up. For one 20x40 frame that added $3,524 to $4,805 at published prices, so the tent ready for pavement cost 1.8 to 2.2 times the tent alone. A stake driver, a stake puller and a frame tent jack cost about $2,150 more, shared across the fleet.

What size tent should a new rental company buy first?

A 20x40 frame tent is the usual first purchase: Bucks County Tent Rentals says it holds 8 tables and 64 chairs, and at its $675 rental rate a $2,999.99 tent recovers its price in about five rentals. Add a 20x20 high peak for smaller jobs, then check which sizes you had to turn away before buying more.

Sources

  • Aztec Tent, Tidewater Sailcloth Tents product page and FAQ, read 31 October 2026
  • Sperry Tents, home page, venue tent sales page and about page, read 31 October 2026
  • Anchor Industries, "Browse Our Sailcloth Tents"; "3 Common Uses For Clear Top Tents"; "Should I Invest in a Pole or Frame Tent? Commercial Tent Options"; instructions for fabric tops made with clear vinyl film, form EC5123, read 31 October 2026
  • Fred's Tents, Stillwater Sailcloth Tents page, read 31 October 2026
  • CanvasCamp, Sailcloth Tent 33' x 33' and 66' x 105' product pages, read 31 October 2026
  • Herculite, Architent Heritage tent fabric page, read 31 October 2026
  • TentandTable, clear West Coast Frame 20x20, 20x30, 20x40 and 40x60 product pages; 20x40 Weekender pole and 20x40 white frame pages; Premium Pole Tent 20x40 and West Coast Frame assembly instructions, read 31 October 2026
  • American Tent, 20x20, 20x40 and 30x60 Clear Top Tent product pages and product data; 20x40 frame and pole product data, read 31 October 2026
  • Celina Tent Europe, "Frame versus Poles: Which Tents are You After?", 18 May 2017
  • TentandTable, frame, high peak, pole tent, sidewall, stake, tool, lighting and barrel cover product pages, read 16 October 2026
  • American Tent, frame, pole, keder, sidewall, ballast and accessory product pages, FAQ, terms and conditions, and fire retardant tent page, read 16 October 2026
  • Celina, product pages for the Master, Classic, Pinnacle, Premiere and Presto series; "High-Peak Frame Tents: A Buying Guide for Event Rental Companies", 12 October 2026; "What Rental Companies Should Look for in a High-Peak Tent", 8 October 2026; "High-Peak vs Traditional Frame Tents", 9 October 2026; "Starting Your Own Tent Rental Business", read 16 October 2026
  • Beyond Tent, commercial tents collection, read 16 October 2026
  • TentCraft, frame tents page, cost page and support page, read 16 October 2026
  • Anchor Industries, frame tents page, read 16 October 2026
  • Aztec Tent, home page, read 16 October 2026
  • Tentnology, home page, FAQ and rental tents page, read 16 October 2026
  • Outdoor Industry Compass, "Johnson Outdoors to sell Eureka! Military and Commercial Tents", 3 March 2023
  • InTents magazine, Eureka! Tent Co. coverage, 29 March 2023
  • Instent, "Does CPAI-84 Meet NFPA 701?", read 16 October 2026
  • Bucks County Tent Rentals, Party Rental Price List, read 16 October 2026

Put the guides to work

Rentopus keeps your stock, your booking website and your signed agreements in one place, so two customers are never promised the same unit on the same Saturday.

14 days, no card.