Skip to content

Inflatable Obstacle Courses and Interactive Games for Rental Operators

On makers' pages on 16 October 2026, most 30 to 65 foot commercial inflatable obstacle courses listed at $2,400 to $7,000, and long multi piece courses up to $19,995. Interactive games such as a joust or sticky wall listed at $1,279 to $3,695. Most of these units need one or two operators on site.

  • 21 min read
  • Written by Rentopus

Key takeaways

  • Magic Jump's 32 foot obstacle course listed at $2,819, its two piece 65 foot course at $6,795 and its three piece 85 foot Boot Camp at $11,995.
  • The 85 foot Boot Camp weighs 925 lb in three pieces of 243, 287 and 395 lb, runs on three blowers and, per Magic Jump, needs 2 operators.
  • Magic Jump's Joust Arena listed at $3,295, Wrecking Ball at $2,899, Sticky Wall at $3,595, Soccer Darts at $2,495 and Axe Throw at $1,279, each with 1 operator.
  • Pennsylvania requires at least as many operators and attendants as the manufacturer recommends, and ride operators must be 16 or older (7 Pa. Code § 139.76).
  • Published rental rates ran from $495 for a 40 foot course near Chicago to $975 for 4 hours for a 60 foot course in Dallas.
  • Schools and churches set their own floor: $3 million of liability at the Diocese of Shreveport and $5 million (CAD) at a British Columbia school district.

This guide is general information, not legal or insurance advice. Rules and policy terms differ by state, province and carrier, so confirm yours with the agency and your broker.

Go to section

Sections 1 to 11
  1. What counts as an obstacle course or interactive game
  2. Inflatable obstacle course prices and sizes
  3. Interactive games: what they cost and what comes in the box
  4. Multi section courses: weight, crew and truck space
  5. Blowers and power
  6. Attendants and staffing rules
  7. Selling to schools, churches and corporate events
  8. Insurance and venue exclusions
  9. What operators charge for obstacle courses and games
  10. Which to buy first
  11. Frequently asked questions

What counts as an obstacle course or interactive game

An inflatable obstacle course is a long, narrow unit that riders run through, with pop ups, tunnels, a climb and a slide, often raced side by side. An interactive game is a unit people play rather than bounce in: a joust, a wrecking ball, a sticky wall, axe throwing, soccer darts, a bungee run or a laser tag arena. Both sell to groups more than to birthday parties.

The buyer changes with the unit. Awesome Entertainment in Columbus, Ohio, lists school field days, corporate family events, church gatherings and youth leagues as the uses for its 49 foot sports course. Those customers book on weekdays, ask for paperwork, and often want staff. That is the business this guide is about.

Height and age limits also move up. Magic Jump sets its Joust Arena and Wrecking Ball at 48 to 72 inches tall, against 36 to 60 inches for its 32 foot obstacle course, so interactives are the units that serve teens and adults. For the wider list of rental lines worth adding, see party rental business ideas.

Inflatable obstacle course prices and sizes

On makers' pages on 16 October 2026, a single piece course of 30 to 50 feet listed at $2,395 to $6,925, and a course of 60 to 180 feet at $4,999 to $19,995. Many were sale prices beside a higher list, and Magic Jump and JumpOrange include blowers.

SellerCourseSize (L x W x H)PiecesPublished priceSource
Magic Jump15 Ninja A module15 x 11 ft1$1,459, list $3,195magicjump.com
Magic Jump32 Obstacle Course32 x 11 x 11 ft1$2,819, list $3,795magicjump.com
Magic Jump50 Obstacle Course50 x 11 x 16 ft1$4,129, list $5,595magicjump.com
Magic Jump65 Obstacle Course65 x 11 x 16 ft2$6,795magicjump.com
Magic Jump85 Boot Camp85 x 11 x 16 ft3$11,995magicjump.com
Magic Jump85 Extreme Boot Camp85 x 20 x 20 ftNot stated$16,995magicjump.com
EZ Inflatables30 to 47 ft courses30 to 47 ft long1$2,695 to $4,495ezinflatables.com
EZ Inflatables126 Marble, 3 pieces126 ft long3$9,395, list $10,995ezinflatables.com
EZ Inflatables140 Warped Wall Challenge140 ft long4$16,795ezinflatables.com
Jungle Jumps30 to 60 ft courses30 to 60 ft longNot stated$2,395 to $4,395 on salejunglejumps.com
JumpOrange24 to 46 ft courses24 to 46 ft long1, or sold per piece$4,275 to $6,925jumporange.com
Eye Candy Inflatables, TorontoFun House Obstacle 30 to Fun Fair ParkNot listed on the category pageNot stated$4,095 to $13,995 USDeyecandyinflatables.com

All read 16 October 2026, before freight and tax.

Three things to read into the table:

  • Modules can be sold apart. Magic Jump's Ninja series sells 15 to 40 foot modules from $1,459, and JumpOrange sells its Shadow Obstacle as three pieces at $5,125 each. Buying modules lets you rent one piece to a backyard and three to a school.
  • Wet or dry courses exist. Magic Jump's H2Obstacle range runs $2,929 to $5,699 for 35 to 65 feet, and several EZ Inflatables courses are wet or dry. A wet course carries the insurance and drying issues in commercial water slides.
  • Courses are narrow. Most Magic Jump courses are 11 feet wide whatever their length, so measure the run you have, not the area.

Before you pay, run the same checks as for any unit: fabric, seams, state approvals and paperwork, set out in where to buy commercial bounce houses. Magic Jump prints a New Jersey type certification on its 85 foot Boot Camp (TC-00940-00) and marks it Pennsylvania approved.

Interactive games: what they cost and what comes in the box

Interactive games cost less than a long obstacle course and take less space, but they come with parts that wear out and limits that are stricter. On Magic Jump's pages on 16 October 2026, the common games listed at $1,279 to $3,695, each with a 1 HP or 1.5 HP blower and 1 operator.

GameSize (L x W x H)WeightPlayers at onceHeight rangeWeight per playerIncludedPriceSource
Joust Arena21 x 21 x 8 ft260 lb248 to 72 in200 lb1 HP blower, 2 helmets, 2 foam joust poles$3,295, list $4,495magicjump.com
Wrecking Ball20 x 20 x 17 ft330 lb448 to 72 in250 lb1.5 HP blower$2,899, list $4,795magicjump.com
Sticky Wall19 x 11 x 12 ft190 lb136 to 72 in200 lb1 HP blower, 3 suits (S, M, L)$3,595magicjump.com
Soccer Darts16 x 16 x 16 ft124 lb1Not statedNot stated1 HP blower, 3 balls$2,495, list $2,995magicjump.com
Axe Throw12 x 11 x 11 ft95 lbTurnsNot statedNot stated1 HP blower, 6 foam axes$1,279, list $1,895magicjump.com
Ultimate Boxing17 x 17 x 10 ftNot readNot readNot readNot readNot read$3,695magicjump.com

All read 16 October 2026. Each of the first five lists 1 operator and a 3 year warranty.

What the table does not show:

  • Consumables. Suits, helmets, poles, balls and foam axes wear and go missing. Magic Jump sells extra foam axes at $16 each. Count them on the pull sheet both ways.
  • Bigger sizes. Soccer Darts also comes at 21 by 21 by 21 feet, listed at $3,395.
  • Laser tag and gladiator arenas. We found no maker page with a laser tag arena or gladiator arena price we could read today. Sky High Party Rentals rents a 29 by 29 foot Battle Dome laser tag arena for $2,000 for up to 4 hours, with 8 laser guns and a trained attendant included, which tells you what that unit costs to run.
  • Combos. Sky High rents a Bungee Run and Joust combo, 30 by 17 feet, and notes one game runs at a time.

Multi section courses: weight, crew and truck space

A multi section course is several inflatables that clip together, and each piece is a heavy lift on its own. The question is not only whether you can afford an 85 foot course but whether your crew can move it and your truck can carry it with everything else on a Saturday.

UnitTotal weightHeaviest piecePiecesBlowersOperatorsSource
32 Obstacle Course367 lb367 lb1One 1 HP1magicjump.com
65 Obstacle Course699 lb362 lb (slide)2Two 1.5 HP2magicjump.com
85 Boot Camp925 lb395 lb (slide)3Three 1 HP2magicjump.com
Wrecking Ball330 lb330 lb1One 1.5 HP1magicjump.com
Joust Arena260 lb260 lb1One 1 HP1magicjump.com

Read 16 October 2026.

No maker page we read says how many people it takes to lift a 395 lb roll, so plan your own: hand trucks or a dolly, a ramp, and enough crew to roll each piece off the trailer without a strain. What the makers do say is the operating crew, and two operators on the 65 and 85 foot courses means two people stay for the event, not only for the setup.

Three access rules to check before you quote:

  • Gates. Sky High lists a minimum 3.5 foot gate for its bungee and joust combo.
  • Walking in. The City of Wilmington, North Carolina, warns vendors they may not be able to drive to a park setup spot, and that inflatables "may have to be walked" there.
  • Setup windows. Wilmington also bans setting up the night before; setup and teardown must fit inside the permit times.

Then the truck. Each piece rides with blowers, stakes or weights, tarps and the game kit. In Rentopus each item can carry its packed weight and packed volume, and each truck its payload and cargo space. The pull sheet totals the load for each truck and warns when it is more than the truck carries, and the Routes screen warns when a route's deliveries are over a truck's payload or space. A three piece course plus a joust on one trailer is exactly the load that warning is for. Grouping stops and loading order are in planning a Saturday: routes, crews and pull sheets.

Blowers and power

Obstacle courses need one blower per section, and a long course needs more power than one outlet can give. Magic Jump puts one blower on its 32 foot course, two 1.5 HP blowers on the 65 foot course and three 1 HP blowers on the 85 foot Boot Camp.

Magic Jump lists the B-Air Kodiak 1 HP at 7.0 amps running and the 1.5 HP at 8.8 amps, measured with back pressure. By our arithmetic, the 85 foot Boot Camp draws about 21 amps and the 65 foot course about 17.6 amps. Both are over the 16 amps that one 20 amp circuit carries in plug in load, so each needs two circuits or a generator, as choosing a generator for a bounce house rental fleet explains.

Published operator requirements show the same thing:

UnitPower requirementOperatorSource
Battle Dome laser tag arena4 standard outlets, each on its own 20 amp breakerSky High Party Rentalsskyhighpartyrentals.com
Bungee Run and Joust combo1 standard outlet on its own 20 amp breakerSky High Party Rentalsskyhighpartyrentals.com
Any inflatable in a city parkGas or diesel generator, ground fault protected, set 30 feet from the inflatable; the city provides no powerCity of Wilmington, North Carolinawilmingtonnc.gov

Read 16 October 2026.

Ask schools and parks where the outlets are before you quote. A field day on the far side of a football field is a generator job.

Attendants and staffing rules

Many interactive games and long courses need a trained operator present, by the maker's manual and in several states by law. Where a rule applies, it usually sets three things: a minimum age, one operator per unit, and at least the number of operators the manufacturer lists.

JurisdictionRuleSource
PennsylvaniaRide operators at least 16; one ride at a time; operators and attendants at least the manufacturer's number or the ASTM F24 figure, whichever is higher7 Pa. Code § 139.76
IllinoisInflatables at events open to the public need a permit ($55 per ride a year) and an attendant at least 16; rentals used only for private events need no permitIllinois Department of Labor FAQ
OntarioPrivate dwellings are exempt; private events at churches, schools and parks are not. A trained attendant can supervise one inflatable at a time, and training records go in the log bookTSSA Advisory 540/19
British ColumbiaPublic events such as schools need an operating permit and a licensed contractor to set up and operate; at least one attendant, and larger units may need moreTechnical Safety BC, 10 June 2026
Manufacturer1 operator for each Magic Jump game in this guide; 2 for its 65 and 85 foot coursesmagicjump.com

Rules read 16 October 2026. Other states are in licenses, permits and inspections.

Put that together for one school event. A joust, a wrecking ball and the 85 foot Boot Camp need 1 + 1 + 2 = 4 operators by Magic Jump's counts, which is the floor in Pennsylvania. In Ontario, where an attendant supervises one inflatable at a time, three units means at least three trained attendants. That staffing is the cost a backyard price list leaves out.

Even where the law is silent, venues ask. Sky High's bungee and joust combo lists "1 Adult Supervision Required", and School District 46 in British Columbia requires an adult "trained or briefed by the Vendor" at all times. If the customer supplies the supervisor, train them and write it down. If you supply the attendant, charge for it. In Rentopus an attendant can be set up as a service, an item with no stock to count, so it sits on the order beside the unit. How to find and train the people is in hire party rental crew.

Selling to schools, churches and corporate events

Schools, churches and companies buy obstacle courses and games for field days, festivals and picnics, and they buy with paperwork. Expect a certificate of insurance with higher limits than a backyard party, additional insureds, and documents weeks before the date.

BuyerLiability requiredOther requirementsSource
Diocese of Shreveport, Louisiana, effective 1 June 2026$3 millionGeneral liability, auto and workers' compensation; bishop, diocese and host school or church as additional insureds; waiver of subrogation; documents one month beforedioshpt.org
School District 46, British Columbia, June 2026$5,000,000District as additional insured; policy must not exclude inflatables; licensed vendor with an operating permit; vendor sets up, operates and takes downsd46.bc.ca
University of Houston, Texas$1,000,000 each occurrence, $2,000,000 aggregate; $1,000,000 autoTexas amusement ride compliance stickers; vendor trains university staff and volunteers; no use in rain or winds over 15 mphuh.edu
City of Wilmington, North Carolina, parks$500,000 bodily injury per person, $1 million aggregateCity as additional insured; weights only, no stakes; maximum 20 by 20 by 20 feetwilmingtonnc.gov

All read 16 October 2026.

Three practical points:

  • Check the limit before the quote. A $1 million policy cannot bid on a $3 million diocese event. The certificate itself is covered in bounce house insurance.
  • Courses do not fit some parks. Wilmington's 20 by 20 foot cap rules out every course in the price table above except the 15 foot Ninja module.
  • The Diocese of Shreveport says its own insurance excludes inflatables. Its policy puts the whole risk on the vendor, which is why the certificate has to say inflatables are covered.

We found no published corporate event package from an operator. Columbus's Awesome Entertainment names corporate family events among the uses of its 49 foot course and prices it from its ordinary list, so quote corporate work from yours, plus staffing.

Insurance and venue exclusions

Interactive games and long courses are where coverage gets narrower. Some carriers charge more or need an endorsement, a few items need their own policy, and some venues ban specific games outright. List every unit for your broker by name.

What we could source on 16 October 2026:

  • Endorsements. JumpOrange's 2026 insurance guide says water slides, mechanical bulls and obstacle courses "often come with higher premiums or require additional endorsements", and may be excluded unless endorsed.
  • Mechanical bulls. Channal Inflatables, a manufacturer, says almost all inflatables can be insured under general liability but that a mechanical bull is an exception needing its own cover.
  • Venue bans. Wilmington's parks do not permit inflatable sumo wrestling suits, mechanical bulls, trackless trains, dunk tanks, reverse bungee trampolines or inflatables that need staking.
  • Exclusions on the buyer's side. The Diocese of Shreveport's own policies exclude inflatables, so it relies entirely on yours.

We found no carrier or broker page today that names jousting, wrecking balls, sticky walls or axe throwing as excluded, so this guide does not say they are. That is a question for your broker, unit by unit, before you buy, not after the first school books. What an insurer asks for in general is in bounce house insurance.

What operators charge for obstacle courses and games

Published rates for an obstacle course ran from $495 for a 40 foot course near Chicago to $975 for 4 hours for a 60 foot course in Dallas, and interactive games from $625 for a joust to $2,000 for a staffed laser tag arena. A 2026 pricing guide puts an obstacle course at $300 to $600.

OperatorMarketUnitPriceSource
Bounce Houses R UsElmhurst, Illinois40 ft Patriot or Sports course; Ninja course$495bouncehousesrus.com
Bounce Houses R UsElmhurst, Illinois90 ft Atomic Drop; 3 piece Atomic Rush$895bouncehousesrus.com
Bounce Houses R UsElmhurst, IllinoisThemed courses$695 to $995bouncehousesrus.com
Awesome EntertainmentColumbus, Ohio7 Element course$599.99 for 3 hours; $699.99 for 8; $999.99 Friday to Sunday; $35 an extra hourcolumbusparties.com
Awesome EntertainmentColumbus, Ohio49 ft sports course with slide$799.99 for 3 hours; $899.99 for 8; $1,299.99 Friday to Sundaycolumbusparties.com
Sky High Party RentalsDallas, Texas8 Element course; 60 ft course$800; $975, each for 4 hoursskyhighpartyrentals.com
Sky High Party RentalsDallas, TexasJoust; 4 in 1 Sports Challenge$625; $650, each for 4 hoursskyhighpartyrentals.com
Sky High Party RentalsHouston, TexasBungee Run and Joust combo$900 for 1 to 4 hoursskyhighpartyrentals.com
Sky High Party RentalsTexasBattle Dome laser tag, attendant included$2,000 for 1 to 4 hoursskyhighpartyrentals.com
LendControl guideUS, 2026Obstacle course$300 to $500 standard; $400 to $600 extendedlendcontrol.com, 17 March 2026

Read 16 October 2026. Bounce Houses R Us does not state a duration on its category page.

How to read it:

  • Event pricing beats day pricing. Columbus charges by 3 hours, 8 hours and a weekend, plus $35 an hour. Schools and companies book by the event, so quote the event window.
  • Staffed units carry their staff in the price. Sky High's laser tag price includes the attendant. Price yours the same way, or add the attendant as its own line.
  • Your rates sit inside a range, not on a number. JumpOrange's figure, used in how to price bounce house rentals, is about $525 per rental for an obstacle course and $300 for an interactive game.

Which to buy first

Buy the unit that wins the bookings you already turn away. For most operators that is a one piece course of 30 to 40 feet, or two modules that join, plus one game that teens and adults will queue for. Leave the 85 foot, three piece course until you have the crew and the trailer.

A short plan, using the figures above:

  1. One piece course first. Magic Jump's 32 foot course at $2,819 is 32 by 11 feet and takes one blower and one operator.
  2. One game second. A joust or a wrecking ball at about $2,900 to $3,300 needs 1 operator and takes riders up to 72 inches tall, which opens teen and adult events.
  3. Modules third. Ninja modules or a second course piece let you sell a longer run to a school without buying a 925 lb course in one go.

A course or a game only pays when it is booked, and its payback depends on rentals you can actually staff. The bounce house startup cost calculator has obstacle courses and interactive games as unit types: set how many of each you plan to run and it shows what the mix costs to put on the road and what it grosses in a season. JumpOrange's season gross figures, about $23,625 for an obstacle course and $13,500 for an interactive game at 45 rentals, are worked through in what a bounce house business actually makes, and the pillar, how to start a bounce house rental business, puts them in the order most operators buy.

Rentopus is booking, delivery and payment software for party rental companies. Your availability, your booking website and your signed agreements in one place, so two customers are never promised the same unit on the same Saturday. See how it works · Browse the guides

Frequently asked questions

How much does an inflatable obstacle course cost?

On makers' own pages on 16 October 2026, a commercial obstacle course listed at $1,459 for a 15 foot Magic Jump module up to $19,995 for EZ Inflatables' 180 foot wet or dry course. Most one piece courses of 30 to 50 feet sat between about $2,400 and $7,000, and courses of 60 feet and more between about $5,000 and $20,000, before freight and tax.

What are interactive inflatables?

Interactive inflatables are units people play a game in rather than just bounce: jousting arenas, wrecking ball or last man standing games, sticky walls, inflatable axe throwing, soccer darts, bungee runs and laser tag arenas. Magic Jump's versions listed at $1,279 to $3,695 in October 2026, and several take riders up to 72 inches tall, so they serve teens and adults.

How many people does it take to set up a large inflatable obstacle course?

No maker page we read gives a lifting crew size, but Magic Jump lists 2 operators for its 65 and 85 foot courses, and their pieces weigh up to 362 and 395 lb. Plan for enough people to roll each piece off the trailer safely with a dolly, and remember the operators stay for the whole event.

Do I need an attendant for an inflatable obstacle course?

Often, yes. Magic Jump lists 1 operator for its 32 foot course and 2 for its 65 and 85 foot courses. Pennsylvania requires at least the manufacturer's number of operators, each 16 or older, and Illinois requires an attendant of at least 16 at public events. Ontario's TSSA says one attendant supervises one inflatable at a time.

How much should I charge to rent an inflatable obstacle course?

Published rates in October 2026 ran from $495 for a 40 foot course near Chicago to $975 for 4 hours for a 60 foot course in Dallas. A Columbus, Ohio operator charges $599.99 for 3 hours and $699.99 for 8 for a 7 element course. LendControl's 2026 guide puts obstacle courses at $300 to $600. Add staffing where you supply it.

Are interactive games covered by bounce house insurance?

Not always. JumpOrange says obstacle courses and mechanical bulls often carry higher premiums or need endorsements, and Channal Inflatables says mechanical bulls need their own cover. We found no carrier page naming jousts or wrecking balls as excluded, so list every unit by name with your broker and get coverage confirmed in writing before you buy.

Can I rent an obstacle course to a school or church?

Yes, but expect paperwork. The Diocese of Shreveport asks vendors for $3 million of liability, additional insured status and documents a month ahead. A British Columbia school district asks for $5,000,000 and a licensed vendor with an operating permit. Check the venue's size limits and power too: Wilmington, North Carolina, parks cap inflatables at 20 by 20 feet.

What size obstacle course should I buy first?

A one piece course of 30 to 40 feet is the usual first purchase. Magic Jump's 32 foot course listed at $2,819, weighs 367 lb, runs on one 1 HP blower and needs one operator. Buy a two or three piece course, which needs two operators and two circuits, once schools and festivals are asking for it.

Sources

  • Magic Jump, obstacle course category page and product pages for the 32 Obstacle Course, 65 Obstacle Course and 85 Boot Camp, read 16 October 2026
  • Magic Jump, inflatable games category page and product pages for the Joust Arena, Wrecking Ball, Sticky Wall, Axe Throw and Soccer Darts, read 16 October 2026
  • Magic Jump, Kodiak 1 HP and Kodiak 1.5 HP blower pages, read 16 October 2026
  • EZ Inflatables, interactives collection, read 16 October 2026
  • Jungle Jumps, interactive inflatables category page, read 16 October 2026
  • JumpOrange, inflatable obstacle course collection, read 16 October 2026
  • JumpOrange, "Bounce House Insurance Requirements: Coverage Limits and Costs for Rental Businesses in 2026", undated, read 16 October 2026
  • Eye Candy Inflatables, obstacle courses collection, read 16 October 2026
  • Channal Inflatables, "Bounce House Insurance Coverage and Cost", undated, read 16 October 2026
  • Sky High Party Rentals, Dallas interactive games page, Bungee Run and Joust Combo page and Battle Dome Laser Tag Arena page, read 16 October 2026
  • Awesome Entertainment, Columbus, Ohio, 7 Element Obstacle Course and 49 Foot Sports Theme Obstacle Course pages, read 16 October 2026
  • Bounce Houses R Us, Elmhurst, Illinois, obstacle courses category, read 16 October 2026
  • LendControl, "Bounce House Rental Pricing: What to Charge in 2026", 17 March 2026
  • Pennsylvania Code, 7 Pa. Code § 139.76, Ride and attraction operators and attendants, read via Cornell Legal Information Institute, 16 October 2026
  • Illinois Department of Labor, Amusement Ride and Attraction Safety FAQ, read 16 October 2026
  • Technical Standards and Safety Authority, Ontario, Advisory 540/19, "'Drop-off' practice for Inflatable devices rentals", 24 January 2019
  • Technical Safety BC, "Renting an Inflatable Device for Your Event? Here's What You Need to Know", 10 June 2026
  • School District 46 (Sunshine Coast), Administrative Regulation 4075, "Inflatable Amusement Devices (Bouncy Castles)", received June 2026
  • Diocese of Shreveport, "Diocesan Policy on Entertainment Equipment and Inflatable Rentals for Events", effective 1 June 2026
  • University of Houston, Risk Management, "Inflatable Rides/Devices Guidelines and Requirements", undated, read 16 October 2026
  • City of Wilmington, North Carolina, Parks and Recreation, "Application for Inflatables and Bounce Houses", read 16 October 2026

Put the guides to work

Rentopus keeps your stock, your booking website and your signed agreements in one place, so two customers are never promised the same unit on the same Saturday.

14 days, no card.